Skip to content

Compassion Warrior

November 10, 2016

Lets be honest, there are many people hurting from this election result.  And if we are being honest, I wasn’t super proud of my democratic vote like I was 4 & 8 years ago.  But this is America and this is how our “democracy” works.  I will continue to be the best citizen I can be while standing firm in what I believe, this is part of what makes us great, our abiltity to stand up for what we belive in.  This election is a little different for me though.  I didn’t know that I would have such an emotional reaction (crying regularly, pain in my chest, itchy skin, anxiety).  Based on my past experiences, I should have been more aware of how I might react, but I really didnt think Trump could win!  So what is happening to me?  Well for me, and for 1 of 3 women (men too I am sure), Trump is a trigger.  To my brain and body the words I heard him say about woman and how he “handles” them is the same as acting on them, which he did admit to. I immediately think of the victim raped by the swimmer behind the dumpster.  The swimmer was pretty much let off the hook completely.  Being a survivor, I know all to well what that woman has to go through, emotionally and physically.  There are no words for how excruciatingly awful it is.  Then I think of all the other survivors and how they must must be feeling about this election outcome.  Let me be the voice – IT IS PAINFUL.  It is painful to know that at anytime, our bodies and emotions can and will be triggered.

So, what I ask of you?  Please don’t rant that I should get  over the results and move on.  Please don’t tell me that what he said was “man talk’ or “locker room banter”.  (I know ZERO men in my life who would ever say those things out loud.)  Don’t tell ME you are proud that Trump is at the helm.  What it says to me and my fellow survivor, is “it’s ok to mistreat women.” That may not be what you hear, but it is what hear, so be respectful of that.  I need time.  Give me some time.  For those whose voices have been broken, give them time.  If you see a fellow American upset about what has happened, ask them to share their story. Talk.  Politics aside, we are all human in need of love, compassion, support and understanding.  Share my story with someone.  I am crying for a deeper reason.  If we can’t get beyond the politics and simply listen and feel for one another, then our country is doomed.  We can bridge the gaps and clean the wounds by being compassionate, by listening to each others stories.  Ain’t no Politician gonna be able to put us back together completely .  That is our responsibility as a human being.  So don’t be mad at me for feeling, listen to my story, then lets talk about it.

   “Simplicity, patience, compassion.
These three are your greatest treasures.
Simple in actions and thoughts, you return to the source of being.
Patient with both friends and enemies,
you accord with the way things are.
Compassionate toward yourself,
you reconcile all beings in the world.”
Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ginger Bruntrager permalink
    November 11, 2016 1:43 pm

    There is no way anyone can begin to imagine the the lifelong pain and suffering that you and Luna must go through. I am proud that you have been able to be such a strong woman and mother.

    Things that have come out with this election may help many folks understand that it is not just actions but words that cause pain. And may the nation learn from this and grow stronger and kinder. ♡♡

Leave a Reply

